Photo: N/A, License: N/A, Created: 2019:08:15 23:31:14

Ready to play

High school football season is almost upon us, and here’s an overview of our two local teams. Old Forge Blue Devils PIAA District 2, Class A of the Lackawanna Football Conference, Division 42018 Record: 8-3 overall; 4-0 in Division Move over pizza. Head c (read more)

Around Town

Informational workshop On Wednesday, Sept. 4, at 6 p.m. the Taylor Community Library, 710 S. Main St., will host a free informational workshop on retirement, including savings plans, Social Security, Medicare and Medicare to Medicaid. Registration is requ (read more)

Community calendar

Email your organization’s events to Please have them in by noon on Friday to have them included in the following Thursday’s edition. Visit the for the complete calendar listing. Farmers market: The Old (read more)

Photo: N/A, License: N/A, Created: 2019:08:07 07:26:05

Green Scene: Sandy street trees

My extended family has rented a property along Bay Avenue in Ocean City, New Jersey for several years. For a couple of years, however, our regular visits were interrupted. It seemed like the blink of an eye, but in the time we were gone, the original Cape (read more)

Photo: N/A, License: N/A

Now hear this

New audio books available at the Taylor Community Library. “The Lying Room” by Nicci French It should have been just a mid-life fling. A guilty indiscretion that Neve Connolly could have weathered. An escape from 20 years of routine marriage to her overwo (read more)

Photo: N/A, License: N/A


SUBMITTED PHOTOS Riverside Elementary East and West held a Back-to-School Fair featuring free food, free school supplies, a DJ, a photo booth, bounce house and many games. (read more)

Local governments

Avoca Borough Address: 950 Main St.Avoca, PA 18641 Phone: 570-457-4947 Fax: 570-451-1750 Duryea Borough Address: 315 Main St.Duryea, PA 18642 Phone: 570-655-2829 Fax: 570-457-4792 Website: Moosic Borough Address: 715 Main St.Moosic, PA 1 (read more)

Photo: N/A, License: N/A

Vegetable, cheese dish a winner for UNC of NEPA

Eat local and support people in more ways than one. At United Neighborhood Centers of Northeastern Pennsylvania’s annual Farm to Fork Dinner, guests can taste fresh produce and more from local farmers while helping those who need it most. The fifth annual (read more)